George Antheil: The Complete Works for String Quartet [OM-1008-2]

Featuring the Del Sol String Quartet. This CD represents the first-ever complete compilation of Antheil's string quartet works, each of which was composed during a different stylistic era in Antheil's development. The result is a tour through a variety of familiar 20th- Century styles now inhabited by the ghosts of five "new" very provocative pieces that comprise a missing link in the repertoire of American 20th- Century music.


The physical edition is nearly sold out, but this release is still available through digital outlets such as iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, & Naxos.


Lithuanian Night (1922) 3:29
1 I. Moderato 2:14
2 II. Presto 1:12
Quartet No. 1 for Strings in one movement (1925) 14:24
3 Allegretto allegro
Quartet No. 2 for Strings (original version, 1927) 19:30
world premiere recording
“For Sylvia Beach, with Love”
4 I. Larghetto; Allegro subito 7:48
5 II. Lento 4:02
6 III. Rondino scherzino—Allegro vivace 6:29
7 IV. Presto—Cadenza fi nale 1:03
Six Little Pieces for String Quartet (1931) 7:50
world premiere recording
“For Mary Louise Bok”
8 I. Moderato expressivo 1:12
9 II. Allegro :49
10 III. Andante 1:37
11 IV. Allegro :42
12 V. Vivo :43
13 VI. Adagio 2:36
Quartet No. 3 for Strings (1948) 17:32
14 I. Allegretto 5:30
15 II. Largo 5:12
16 III. Scherzo—Quasi presto 2:12
17 IV. Allegro giocoso 4:29

Welcome to Other Minds' webstore!

Browse all our label releases plus other items on consignment or by recommendation of OM staff and friends. If you don't see it listed, we don't have it in stock.

OM Tweets