Øyvind Torvund: The Exotica Album


The Exotica Album's roots are in the “lounge” music of the mid 20th century as exemplified by Martin Denny and Les Baxter, a lush musical vernacular calling to mind an imaginary South Seas, tropical birds, and tiki lounges. However, it is as if seen and heard from a 21stcentury perspective, incorporating synthesizers, modern electronics, Messiaen-like bird song, and noise, making this a unique mashup of styles and decades distilled into a single work. In contrast to chittering minimalist trends, Exotica could be described as “maximalist,” with lush Hollywood-style melodies and kaleidoscopic instrumental colors in counterpoint with extravagant electronic displays of modernism.
        While high culture or avant-garde encounters with popular musical forms often result in pastiches of a cynical or “meta” nature, Torvund’s approach is organically developed from within the style, resulting in a work both knowledgeable, genuine, and delightful.
        In short, Exotica is a singular and indefinable musical experience.

 From the liner notes:
A chorus of Disney-fied whistling leads into the synthesised sounds of jungle animals, as impossibly lush, sensual strings transport us to the South Seas setting of some corny Hollywood movie or coconut-flavoured TV ad. What might be chirping bird-calls (sounding suspiciously like short-wave radio signals), and an insistent peck on the piano give way to demented percussion, spiritual-sax and an Alpine brass fanfare that’s drowned out by electrical storms of yowling distortion. There’s electronic raindrops, a duet for bongo drums and ring-modulator. Add weird electronic wig-outs mixed with tiki lounge and it’s suddenly like John Zorn hanging with Karl-Heinz Stockhausen round at Martin Denny’s place. It's a musical Mai Tai!
        Welcome to The Exotica Album by Øyvind Torvund. This is maximal music, where a gallon’s worth of content is squeezed into a pint-pot of recording time, and it’s great!

    Track Listing:
1. Ritual 1
2. Starry Night
3. Wind Up Paradise Birds
4. Waking Up Again
5. Rainforest Morning 
6. Rainbow Crystal
7. Jungle Alarm
8. Ritual 2
9. Cave
10. Out of the Jungle


Welcome to Other Minds' webstore!

Browse all our label releases plus other items on consignment or by recommendation of OM staff and friends. If you don't see it listed, we don't have it in stock.

OM Tweets